Rush Guitarist Alex Lifeson Debuts New Band Envy of None

Alex Lifeson, the co-founding guitarist of Rock and Roll Hall of Fame rock band Rush, has announced that has formed a new band, Envy Of None. The collective of musicians includes three Canadians including Alex Lifeson, bassist Andy Curran (Coney Hatch), recording engineer, and guitarist Alfio Annibalini, along with American vocalist Maiah Wynne, who have spent the past six months in the studio and have released the band’s first works; debut single, “Liar” which is part of the upcoming release of the self-titled album set for April 8. The song features a dark deep guitar undertone with Wynne’s cathedral mezzo-soprano voice that blends in part indie and folk rock and synth-rock to create a fusion sound above the rock bed of Lifeson’s guitar riffs.

“Maiah became my muse,” he says today, highlighting the impact of vocalist Maiah Wayne. “She was able to bring this whole new ethereal thing through her sense of melody on tracks like Liar and Look Inside. After hearing her vocals on Never Said I Love You, I felt so excited. I’ve never had that kind of inspiration working with another musician. When we say she’s special, it’s because she’s really fucking special!” – Alex Lifeson

The longtime guitarist has returned with a new project after the death of Rush drummer Neil Peart, who died two years ago. Rush was put on hiatus with the possibility of a later reunion for Lifeson and Geddy Lee to produce new music. Until then, Envy of None is finalizing the album that paves new territory for Lifeson, bringing a unique melodic sound in the band’s debut single, featuring the powerful vocals of the youngest member of the group, Maiah Wynne, who is 25. She has already performed at several prominent music festivals and has a song featured in a feature film.

The debut album will include a special track that will serve as a tribute to Neil Peart.

Envy Of None:
1. Never Said I Love You
2. Shadow
3. Look Inside
4. Liar
5. Spy House
6. Dog`s Life
7. Kabul Blues
8. Old Strings
9. Dumb
10. Enemy
11. Western Sunset

Comments are closed.