Robert Plant and Alison Krauss Release Second Duo Album

Former Led Zeppelin frontman Robert Plant has teamed up with Alison Krauss to release a follow-up studio album to their highly successful Raising Sand, released on Nashville  label Rounder Records in 2007. That highly successful folk/country album received critical acclaim in 2008, leading to wins in every Grammy Award the album and duo was nominated for, taking home a total of six golden gramophones that year.


After a 14-year hiatus, the unexpected reunion of a music paradigm that brings together two notable artists intertwining Plant’s distinctive standing as a Rock & Roll Hall of Famer and Krauss’s impressive 27 Grammy Award wins. Each artist has made their mark in their own genres, Plant and Krause in rock and Krauss in bluegrass and country. The new 12-track album titled Raise the Roof, primarily made up of cover songs, is set for a November 19 release on Rounder. This new pairing will reunite longtime record producer T Bone Burnett along with a bevy of highly experienced, well-recognized musicians including guitarists Marc Ribot, David Hidalgo, Bill Frisell, and Buddy Miller; bassists Dennis Crouch and Viktor Krauss; drummer Jay Bellerose; and pedal steel guitarist Russ Pahl, among others. The album is comprised of many previously released B-side tunes by many recognizable names, including songs by legends such as Merle Haggard, Allen Toussaint, The Everly Brothers, Anne Briggs, and Geeshie Wiley, among others from various genres of music.

The recently released first cut “Can’t Let Go” from the upcoming album was originally recorded by Lucinda Williams from her Car Wheels on a Gravel Road (1998) and was written by Randy Weeks.


Plant and Krauss are set to tour together in 2022, with dates to be announced.


Raise The Roof Track List:

1.  Quattro (World Drifts In)
2.  The Price of Love
3.  Go Your Way
4.  Trouble With My Lover
5.  Searching for My Love
6.  Can’t Let Go
7.  It Don’t Bother Me
8.  You Led Me to The Wrong
9.  Last Kind Words Blues
10.  High and Lonesome
11.  Going Where the Lonely Go
12.  Somebody Was Watching Over Me



Leave a Reply