New Live Gov’t Mule Digital-Only Album: ‘Live at the Beacon Theatre’ 12.31.17

Usually at this time of year, fans would be preparing to flock to their favorite venues to catch some great music during bands’ New Year’s runs. Alas, 2020 is as far from usual as we can get. We’re all looking for glimmers of hope for the spring, or the summer, or at least next fall.

Filling that gap just a bit is a new live album from Gov’t Mule titled Live At The Beacon Theatre, recorded at the end of the band’s New Year’s run at The Beacon on 12.31.17. Mule-year’s Eve is always special, but this incredible show is mind-blowing: 31 songs and a mind-blowing set of covers in the second set. Joining Mule for set two were: Jackie Greene, Shawn PeltonThe Chronic HornsThe Better Half Singers, and Jimmy Vivino.


Warren Haynes talks about this first release of digital-only recordings from a series the band plans to share:

While there’s nothing like being in a room with all of you, we wanted to release a series of live recordings to share some of that live electricity that we all miss so much. This show is timely and unique and seems like a good way to kick off the series. This album was recorded at the Beacon Theatre on New Year’s Eve 2017, and you’ll even hear balloons popping following ‘The Revolution Will Not Be Televised’ as the celebrations began. We look forward to being able to eventually resume our annual tradition of ringing in a new year with you at Beacon Theatre, but until then we hope you enjoy these live recordings.


[SET 1: Thorns of Life, Large Than Life, The Man I Want to Be, Painted Silver Light, Lay Your Burden Down, About to Rage, Kind of Bird (ABB), Dark Was the Night, Cold Was the Ground (Blind Willie Johnson); SET 2 (The Rocking Mule Review): Daddy Don’t Live in That New York City No More (Steely Dan), Something in the Air (Thunderclap Newman), Funky President (James Brown), Children of the Revolution (T. Rex), Revolution Come, Revolution Go, Revolution (Bob Marley), A Change is Gonna Come (Sam Cooke), The Times They are A-Changin’ (Bob Dylan), Auld Lang Syne (Robert Burns), The Revolution Will Not Be Televised (Gil Scott-Heron), Reblow Your Revolution, Get Up (Jackie Greene), He Ain’t Give You None (Van Morrison), For What It’s Worth (Buffalo Springfield), Revolution Blues (Neil Young), Ball of Confusion (That’s What the World is Today) (The Temptations), Fortunate Son (Creedence Clearwater Revival), Changes (David Bowie); E: Melissa (ABB), Mountain Jam (ABB), Rockin’ in the Free World (Neil Young), Machine Gun (Band of Gypsys), Little Martha (ABB)]


Dive in! Check the playlist here or on any of the usual platforms!


Comments are closed.